My first Android App failed and how I feel about it

My first Android App failed and how I feel about it

·

3 min read

Introduction

When I was developing my app "BubbleNum", I thought it will be my first successful product, but the truth is that we don't normally succeed on our first try.

A perfect App?

laptop-job-boards-by-oblik-studio.png

When I was coding my app, adding feature after feature, using classes, rewriting the app's code, then choosing colours, picking the right UI, choosing the theme, designing the entire app, improving the design, then finding bugs, fixing the bugs, improving the user experience, I was making sure that it is a perfect product with no flaws, which of course, is not a realistic goal. I know that but at least as close as possible to perfection.

Then I published my app after four months of hard work, I was really nervous about publishing. What would others think, will people download my app, will they like it...etc. Luckily a lot of the dev community on Twitter, few of which I can call my friends, congratulated me and told me to be proud of myself for achieving such a goal and making such a great product. They made me so happy and that encouraged me and made me slightly proud of myself, but not for long. I did not think I deserve to be proud of myself just yet.

App expectations

Group 3.png

I wanted to see how it will go with the app; will a lot of people try it, will a good number of people keep using it or did I just wasted four months studying, stressing out and working hard for nothing. I thought it will market itself at the beginning.

At least a decent number of users would download my app, not a huge number though, since the app is not really an original idea, but that was not the case. The number is way less than what I was expecting.

If it would have succeeded just a little more, It would have encouraged me to maybe add more features or start a new one entirely but unfortunately since it did not technically succeed, I got frustrated, disappointed and eventually burned out.

My impression

Group 2.png

At one point, I felt that I don't want to code anymore. Now I know I had to lower my expectations next time so I won't get disappointed again. Which What I should have done from the beginning. I am still learning that not every product succeed and it is very rare for a first product to succeed and that is totally fine and normal actually.

Conclusion

I know that was really a depressing Article, but I wanted to say that it is ok not to succeed the first time or even the second time, The more products you make the more you learn something, I don't think it is a complete waste of our time.

Morever, I made a lot of Twitter friends; I think I inspired some; I learned a lot..., so it wasn't really a waste of time at all, but that was what I felt at first. I am, of course, grateful for all the users who downloaded, used my app & even gave my app great reviews.

Thank you for reading my post. You can follow me here on Hashnode or follow me on Twitter to be the first person to read my new posts.

P.S. They are not going to be depressing!